Kossuth County Emergency Management Commission 219 S. Phillip Street Algona, IA 50511

The Kossuth County Emergency Management Commission meeting was held on Tuesday August 29, 2023 at the Kossuth County Emergency Response & Training Complex 219 S. Phillips St in Algona.

The meeting was called to order by Chairman, Rick Murphy, at 6:00 p.m. A quorum was established.

A motion to approve minutes from July 25, 2023 & August 9, 2023, meeting was made by Marilyn Schutz with a second from Wendy Zielske. Motion carried.

A motion to approve the Agenda for Kossuth County Emergency Management Commission August 29, 2023, was made by Wendy Zielske with a second from Deb Steven. Motion carried.

Old Business

29c Update- This is a completely redrafted version of SF570, which reverts back to all BOS, the Mayors, and the Sheriff as the commission make up. Still provides for a countywide special levy certified and levied by the commission at a rate not to exceed 35 cents per thousands of assessed value of taxable property. NEW SUBSECTION. 7. If a commission is meeting the financial obligations for implementation of its local emergency management program and operation of the local emergency management agency, the commission may reserve an amount of unobligated and unencumbered funds, excluding amounts reserved or obligated under the capital improvement plan under subsection 8, for operations and emergency response and recovery expenditure obligations in a future fiscal year, not to exceed an amount equal to thirty percent of the local emergency management agency's approved budget for the fiscal year. NEW SUBSECTION. 8. Each commission shall, as part of the local emergency management agency's budgeting process, adopt a capital improvement plan that identifies large expenditures or capital improvement projects and the funding sources and financing of such projects for at least the subsequent five fiscal years. Amounts reserved or obligated under a capital improvement plan are not subject to the reserve amount limitation under subsection 7. The local emergency management agency's annual budgeting process shall include evaluation of the activities undertaken and the progress made under the capital improvement plan. The capital improvement plan may be part of a local emergency management agency's strategic plan, as determined by the commission. percent of the local emergency management agency's approved budget for the applicable fiscal year.

Weather Radar update-August 15 was the EMA District 2 meeting, Matt Rector from Senator Grassley's office was in attendance. The District reported information that was gathered regarding the lack of radar coverage in the North central part of Iowa. Matt listened, took notes, and advised us to gather as much information as possible on the issue and then begin to

write letters to leaders to gather support. After that meeting the district EMA's formed a task force aimed at addressing this issue and moving it forward. As this task force moves forward Charissa will keep the commission updated.

New Business

Budget Amendment– Public Hearing was opened at 6:15pm by Chairman, Rick Murphy. No public was in attendance or attending via Teams. Motion to close public hearing was made by Wendy Zielske with a second by Marilyn Schutz. Motion carried. Public hearing closed at 6:17 p.m.

Decision/adoption of budget amendment- As presented in the July meeting with the adoption of the Crisis Canine Program grant dollars that were awarded- \$ 13,000 will need to be added along with program revenue & expenditure codes to the FY23/24 budget. Motion to adopt budget amendment was made by David LaGue with a second by Gene Miller. Motion carried. Roll Call vote taken with 11 "yes" and no "nays", notion carried.

School radio update- All the schools in Kossuth County have received their Emergency Radios. When the schools push the button dispatchers will know what school it is.

Next meeting: Tuesday, October 24, 2023 at 6:00 pm

A motion to Adjourn was made by Wendy Zielske with a second from Josh Waechter. Motion carried.

Adjourned at 6:26 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Charissa Mueller, Coordinator

**Voting and Quorum. Every member of the Commission shall be entitled to (1) one vote. A quorum shall be determined to be eight (8) attending voting members. **