About the EMA Commission

The State of Iowa requires local jurisdictions to follow Iowa Code Section 29C.9, which states that the county boards of supervisors, city councils, and the sheriff in each county shall cooperate with the department to establish a commission to carry out the provisions of this particular chapter.

The EMA commission is comprised of a member of the board of supervisors, the sheriff, and the mayor from each city within the county. A commission member may designate an alternate to represent the designated entity. If an alternate is selected to represent the designated entity, that alternate must be an elected official.

Commission Responsibilities

- 1. Oversee the operations of the Emergency Management Office including planning, training, and exercise
- 2. Approve policies, budgets, and the everyday work done by the office

Emergency Management Commission

Rick Murphy- Algona Tom Johnson- Bancroft Christy Skilling- Burt Deb Steven (Alternate) - Lakota Vacant - Ledyard Letty Henricksen -Lone Rock Kevin McPeak – Lu Verne Wendy Zielske – Swea City Titonka – David LaGue Craig Larson – Wesley Kimberly Johnson – West Bend Dan Elbert- Whittemore Roger Fisher- Kossuth County Sheriff Josh Waechter – Board of Supervisors