- CONFERENCE BOARD MINUTES -

The Kossuth County Conference Board met on Wednesday, January 10, 2024, at 4:30 p.m. in the Supervisor's meeting room in the Kossuth County Court House.

Those members present were:

Board of Supervisors: Carter Nath – 1st District, Joshua Waechter- 3rd District, Kyle Stecker – 4th District and Roger Tjarks – 5th District.

Mayors: Rick Murphy – Algona; Tom Johnson – Bancroft; Christy Skilling – Burt; Sharon Hackenmiller-Cowin – Ledyard (Teams); Kevin McPeak – LuVerne; David LaGue – Titonka; Craig Larson – Wesley and Kimberly Johnson – West Bend.

School Board: Phil Albers – North Kossuth; Gene Miller – North Union.

Also in attendance was Judy Samp – Assessor; Christopher Lawson – Chief Deputy Assessor and Nancy Dixon-Knecht – Office Staff.

The meeting was called to order at 4:31 p.m.

The first item on the agenda was to approve the minutes from the Conference Board meeting held February 28, 2023. There was a motion by Mayor, Tom Johnson, seconded by School Board, Gene Miller to approve the minutes as presented. On a voice vote, the motion was carried.

Jack Limbaugh was previously the School Board designee to the Examining Board, his term expired 1/1/24. There was discussion between the School Board members present, decision made to re-appoint Jack Limbaugh as the School Board designee to the Examining Board for another 6-year term ending 1/1/30.

There was discussion on the soon to be vacant Assessor position. Supervisor Kyle Stecker made a motion to appoint Christopher Lawson as next Assessor pending Department of Revenue approval. Second by Mayor, David LaGue. Roll Call Vote, motion carried 3-0.

Mayor, Kevin McPeak made a motion to approve the Resignation of current Assessor Judy Samp effective February 1, 2024. Supervisor, Carter Nath seconded the motion. On a Voice Vote, the motion was carried.

Mayor, Rick Murphy made a motion to have the next meeting Tuesday, February 13 at 4:00 p.m. School Board, Gene Miller seconded the motion. On a Voice Vote, the motion was carried.

With no other business on the agenda, it was moved by Mayor, David LaGue to adjourn the meeting, seconded by School Board, Phil Albers. On a voice vote, the motion was carried.

Meeting adjourned at 5:12 P.M.

Kyle Stecker, Conference Board Chairman

Judy Samp, Clerk