Revised: 8/14//2024

Kossuth County Recorder

Karen Benschoter, Recorder-recorder@kossuthcounty.iowa.gov
Autumn Zwiefel, Deputy azwiefel@kossuthcounty.iowa.gov

Kim Doughan, Deputy-kdoughan@kossuthcounty.iowa.gov

Kristi Frambach, Clerk #1- kframbach@kossuthcounty.iowa.gov

Kossuth County Courthouse 114 W. State Street Ste 6 Algona, IA 50511

Phone: (515) 295-5660 Fax: (515) 395-3660

FEE SCHEDULE FOR RECORDING

Land Recording: \$7.00 per 1st page then \$5.00 for each additional page

Includes but not limited to:

Mortgages, Corner Certs. Examples: 1 page document - \$7.00 Assignments, Releases, 2 page document - \$12.00 Foreclosures, Affidavits, 3 page document - \$17.00

Tax Liens, Easements 4 page document - \$22.00 and so on

Surveys: \$7.00 per 1st page then \$5.00 for each additional page

Multi-Purpose Land Recording: \$7.00 per 1st page, \$5.00 per page thereafter

\$7.00 per each additional transaction.

(i.e. Instruments that release multiple mortgages, assign,

modifications, amendments)

1 page release referencing 2 mortgages - \$14.00

1 page assignment referencing 2 mortgages - \$14.00

2 page release referencing 2 mortgages - \$19.00

Land Recording Conveyances Including Changes of Title:

including but not limited to:
All deeds except cemetery
Deeds, Affidavits of Surviving
Spouse, Forfeitures of Contract,
Assignments or Amendments
of Contract & Contracts

\$7.00 per 1st page then \$5.00 for each additional page \$5.00 Auditor fee per parcel:

- 1. All contiguous land lying within a numbered section.
- 2. All contiguous land lying within a platted block or subdivision.
- 3. Auditor's fee shall not exceed \$50.00 per document

Examples: 1 page deed referencing 1 section or block - \$12.00

1 page deed referencing 2 sections or blocks - \$17.00 2 page deed referencing 1 section or block - \$17.00

2 page deed referencing 2 sections or blocks - \$ 22.00

Real Estate Transfer Tax: This shared state/county sales tax on real estate is due on all

Conveyances in which consideration has been paid and is not Exempt from tax according to Iowa Code Section 428A.2

<u>Uniform Commercial Code Fee:</u> All UCC filings: first page \$7.00

Each additional page \$5.00

Revised: 8/14//2024

FEE SCHEDULE FOR SERVICES:

<u>Land Records Certified Copies:</u> \$5.00 first page plus \$1.00 for each additional page of

the document.

Military Discharge Certified Copies: No Charge

Vital Records Certified Copies: 15.00 per certified copy. Only the following people are eligible for

Certified copies: the person of record; a spouse, mother, Father(must be named on the record as legal father), step-Parent if married to parent of record, legal age sister or brother, Maternal or paternal grandparents, attorney, legal guardian, Physician, funeral director, abstractor, insurance or legal agent.

Plain Paper Vital Record Copies: \$1.00 per copy. 2.00 mailing fee. We can take over the phone orders for plain paper

copies. We can mail, email or have them picked up in person.

Marriage Application, License
And Certificate of Marriage:

\$35.00 at the time of application. The parties and one witness attesting to the party's ages and ability to enter into a Civil contract must sign the application. All parties must have

Valid photo ID's. Iowa law requires a 3-day waiting period before License is valid. License is not proof of marriage. Certificate of Marriage is returned to the County Recorder where application is Made within 15 days after marriage is solemnized. Certificate of

Marriage is valid statewide.

Emailed copies: \$2.00 for 1st page then \$1.00 for each additional page.

Mailed Copies: \$2.00 for 1st page then \$1.00 for each additional page

In office copy fees for land records: \$.50 per page

Computer printouts: \$1.50 per page. (No computer records prior to 6-1-1993)